Panoramic view of a valley in Ethiopia.

We are again organizing a photo competition as part of Tropentag 2021. The topic is: to upgrade / improve degraded land in the sense of holistic landscape management. The call for proposals is issued in cooperation with the Tropentag 2021 (https://www.tropentag.de/). The Tropentag (tropical day) will take place from 15.09.-17.09.2021 as a hybrid conference (partly online and partly in person). It is organized by the Tropical and Subtropical Agricultural Sciences Working Group (ATSAF) e.V. (https://atsaf.org/) together with the University of Hohenheim. With around 1,000 participants, the Tropentag is regularly considered one of the largest scientific congresses on the subject of tropical and subtropical agricultural sciences worldwide. It is interdisciplinary and designed with a strong emphasis on young scientists.

The idea of the photo competition is to find pictures and photo reports on the topic that are as expressive as possible. In this way, interesting, promising and emotionally appealing approaches should be collected and made known. 

The two categories of the competition are:

  1. Best single picture
  2. Best photo story (max 10 photos)

An informative title and, if possible, a small history and (scientific) background information are asked to be provided for each submission. Submissions are sent to fotocontest@lets-plant.org. Deadline for submissions is 31.08.2021.

By submitting, the sender agrees to provide a non-exclusive right to the NGO Let's Plant e.V. to use the pictures and the accompanying texts for non-commercial purposes, in particular for exhibitions in print and online, always acknowledging and mentioning the sender/copyright holder. In cooperation with appropriate sponsors, Let's Plant offers to organize publically accessible exhibitions of the best placed photos.

 

Review: Tropentag 2020

In the framework of Tropentag 2020, Let's Plant hosted the photo competition for the first time. Many interesting photos have been submitted concerning the topic "to upgrade / improve degraded land in the sense of holistic landscape management" - from over 18 countries covering 4 continents! The jury ranked the submissions and the results have been presented as part of the enclosure of Tropentag 2020. We thank all participant for their phantastic contributions! For the jury it was very difficult to decide for a ranking of the photos. We nominated three winners in the category "Best single picture" and three winners in the category "Best photo stories". Here are the results:

Category single photos:

1st place: Rex Parro. See photos.
2
nd place: Julian Neef. See photos.
3rd place: Sushma Banjara. See photos.

Category photo stories:

1st place: Jakob Scheler. See photos.
2
nd place: Teresa Rojas. See photos.
3
rd place: Elio Guarionex. See photos.

Some of the winner photos are exhibited in the framework of the project Zeitenwende in the Kottenforest (near Bonn). The exhibition can be reached by this route.

Exhibition Winner Photos (Zeitenwende) Photo Competition Tropentag 2020

 

 

Companies and Organisations, which support this project:

Tropentag Logo     EFI Logo

Panoramablick über eine Landschaft in Äthiopien.

Auch im Rahmen des Tropentags 2021 organisieren wir wieder einen Fotowettbewerb. Das Thema lauter: degradiertes Land im Sinne eines ganzheitlichen Landschafts-Managements aufzuwerten / zu verbessern. Die Ausschreibung erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Tropentag 2021 (http://www.tropentag.de/). Der Tropentag wird vom 15.-17. September 2021 als Hybrid-Konferenz (teils online, teils in Präsenz) stattfinden. Er wird von der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Tropische und Subtropische Agrarwissenschaften (ATSAF) e.V. (https://atsaf.org/) zusammen mit der Universität Hohenheim ausgerichtet. Der Tropentag gilt mit regelmäßig um die 1000 Teilnehmern als einer der größten wissenschaftlichen Kongresse zum Thema tropische und subtropische Agrarwissenschaften weltweit. Er ist interdisziplinär und mit einem starken Akzent auf Nachwuchswissenschaftler ausgelegt.  

Die Idee des Fotowettbewerbs ist es, möglichst ausdrucksstarke Bilder und Fotoreportagen zum Thema zu finden. Auf diese Weise sollen interessante, erfolgversprechende und emotional ansprechende Ansätze gesammelt und bekannt gemacht werden.

Die beiden Kategorien des Wettbewerbs sind:  

1. Bestes Einzelbild  

2. Beste Fotostory  (max 10 Fotos)

Zu jeder Einsendungen soll ein informativer Titel und möglichst eine kleine Geschichte und, wenn möglich, (wissenschaftliche) Hintergrundinformationen geliefert werden. Die Beiträge sollen dann per E-Mail an fotocontest@lets-plant.org geschickt werden. Einsendeschluss ist der 31.08.2021. 

Mit der Einsendung erklärt sich der Einsender damit einverstanden, dem gemeinnützigen Verein Let's Plant e.V. ein nicht-ausschließliches Recht zur Nutzung der Bilder und der begleitenden Texte für nicht-kommerzielle Zwecke, insbesondere für Ausstellungen in digitaler oder physischer Form einzuräumen, wobei immer der Einsender bzw. Urheber genannt werden muss. Let's Plant e.V. bietet in Zusammenarbeit mit geeigneten Sponsoren an, öffentlich zugängliche Ausstellungen der bestplatzierten Fotos zu organisieren.

 

Rückblick: Tropentag 2020

Auf dem Tropentag 2020 hat Let's Plant zum ersten Mal den Fotowettbewerb ausgerichtet. Es wurden viele interessante Fotos eingesendet zum Thema "degradiertes Land im Sinne eines ganzheitlichen Landschafts-Managements aufzuwerten / zu verbessern" - aus über 18 Ländern und 4 Kontinenten! Die Jury hat eine Rangfolge erstellt und die Ergebnisse wurden im Rahmen des Tropentag 2020 präsentiert. Wir danken allen Teilnehmern für ihre fantastischen Beiträge! Für die Jury war es sehr schwierig, sich für eine Rangfolge der Fotos zu entscheiden. Wir haben drei Gewinner in der Kategorie "Bestes Einzelbild" und drei Gewinner in der Kategorie "Beste Fotostory" nominiert. Hier sind die Ergebnisse:

Kategorie Einzelfotos:
1. Platz: Rex G. Parro. Foto.
2. Platz: Julian Neef. Foto.
3. Platz: Sushma Banjara. Foto.

Kategorie Fotostorys:
1. Platz: Jakob Scheler. Fotos.
2. Platz: Teresa Rojas. Fotos.
3. Platz: Elio Guarionex. Fotos.

 

 

Firmen und Organisationen, die dieses Projekt unterstützen

Tropentag  Logo
Logo EFI